Sunday , September 23 2018

Karnataka Premier League (KPL) | Schedule |Teams | Points table

Karnataka Premier League (KPL) | Schedule |Teams | Points table

KPL is a state twenty-20 cricket match held every year in Karnataka. The league was established in the year 2009 by the Karnataka State Cricket Association to give away tribute to the former President of the association Late Shree Srikantadutta Narasinharaja Wodeyar. The match is exactly same like Indian Premier League, popularly known as IPL.

There are 10 teams from across the state that had participated in the league since the first season. The title sponsor of the league is a Karnataka based company that deals with real estate namely Mantri Developers. The technical and other procedure of the matches is same like IPL. Though the Mantri Developers company had the copyright of the league, but in 2014 one of the leading mobile manufacturing companies Karbon Mobile had got the power of being the title sponsor of the league. The league now officially called Karbon KPL.

Karnataka Premier League (KPL)

Unlike IPL the players under this league have to be from Karnataka only. Other players from other states will not be eligible to participate under any team in this league. It is a state level match that takes place in several cities across Karnataka. As of now 4 seasons are played under KPL. It is an annual match. First season was played in the year 2009, second was in the year 2010, and then 3rd was played in the year 2014. KPL wasn’t played during 2011, 12 and 13 for technical reasons.

Karnataka Premier League (KPL) Teams

There are 10 total teams that had participated in the KPL. All the teams belong to Karnataka only and also the players belong to the same state as well. The teams and the respective captains are:

Sl. No. Captain Teams
1. Deepak Chougule Bangalore Brigadiers
2. Balachandra Akhil Provident Bangalore
3. SP Shinde Bijapur Bulls
4. Jagadeesh Arunkumar Belagavi Panthers
5. Chethan Williams Mysuru Warriors
6. Bharat Chipli Mangalore united
7. Kicha Sudeepa Rock Stars
8. Sunil Joshi Shamanur Davanagere Diamonds
9. Stuart Binny Namma Shivamogga
10. C Raghu Bellary Tuskers

The league was started with 10 teams but in 2014, another team joined the battle ground namely Hubli Tigers. As of now the team didn’t play yet. There is no news about Hubli Tigers.

Karnataka Premier League (KPL) Matches and Schedule

This year total 32 matches will take place under KPL including two semis and one final match. In 2016, the league will be starting on 3rd September 2016 and will be ended on 20th September 2016. 20th will be the final match between the qualifiers of two semi final matches. Unlike IPL, the KPL matches do not take much time to finish. Within 17-20 days the league gets over. The match schedule for 2016 is as follows:

KSCA Rajnagar Stadium, Hubballi
Date I  Match 1.30 PM


II  Match 5.30PM
IIIrd Sep Belagavi Panthers Mangalore United


Namma Shivamogga Mysuru Warriors
IVth Sep Bijapur Bulls


Bellary Tuskers Rock Stars Hubli Tigers
Vth Sep Mangalore United


Mysuru Warriors Rock Stars Belagavi Panthers
VIth Sep Hubli Tigers Bijapur Bulls


Bellary Tuskers Namma Shivamogga
VIIthSep Mysuru Warriors Bellary Tuskers


Mangalore United Bijapur Bulls
VIIIthSep Rock star Namma Shivamogga Hubli Tigers Belagavi Panthers
IXth Sep Namma Shivamugga Bijapur Bulls


Belagavi Mysuru
Xth Sep Mangalore United Hubli Tigers Bellary Tuskers Rock Star

Srikantadutta Narasimha Raja Wadeyar Ground, Mysore

I Match  1.30PM II Match 5.30PM
XIIthSep Belagavi Namma Shivamogga Mangalore United Bellary Tuskers
XIIIthSep Rock stars Bijapur Bulls


Namma Shivamogga Hubli Tigers
XIVthSep Bellary Tuskers Belagavi Panthers Mysuru Warriors Bijapur Bulls
XVthSep Mysuru Warriors Hubli Tigers


Rock stars Mangalore United
XVIthSep Bellary Tuskers Hubli Tigers


Bijapur Bulls Belagavi Panthers
XVIIthSep Namma Shivamogga


Mangalore United Rock stars Mysuru Warriors
XVIIthSep Eliminator – Hubli


Mangalore United Qualifier 1 (5.30)
XIXthSep Qualifier 2 (5.00)
20th Sep Final (5.00)

Karnataka Premier League (KPL) Winners

  • The winner of first season held in 2009 was Provident Bangalore
  • The winner of second season held in 2010 was Mangalore United.
  • The winner of third season held in 2014 was Mysuru Warriors
  • The winner of fourth season held in 2015 was Bijapur Bulls.

Other Articles