Saturday , December 15 2018
Breaking News

IPL 10 Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) 2017 Team, Squad, Players, Captain, History, Owners, Facts, Records

IPL 10 Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) 2017 Team, Squad, Players, Captain, History, Owners, Facts, Records

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is one of the most popular teams of Indian Premiere League (IPL) Cricket. The popularity also comes because the team is headed by superstar Shah Rukh Khan who owns the team besides Juhi Chawla and her husband. Juhi Chawla was also a lead actress in Bollywood and together their fame attributes the charm of the game.

Facts about the team

  • It represents Kolkata, West Bengal – a place that loves sports. SRK said in one of his interviews that the sole reason he went for Kolkata was because this city had a passion for its sports. The only other option he was contemplating was Goa.
  • From the year 2008, the team has held a very stable position in the game. They have won a few times and lost a few times but their performance has been at par for the most period.
  • KKR is supported by lakhs of followers – some diehard fan of the city and some of the team owners. Therefore it has a tremendous potential to turn around any match in their favor. This situation has happened time and again in the games.
  • The team is gearing up for its games in 2017 to battle with its opponents. There are total 51,725 tweets on social media ion support of the team already, reflecting the eagerness to watch them play.

Match heads and players

SRK and the Chawlas made it a point to take the best of the players into their team. Therefore, they hired none other than Gautam Gambhir, who after a shaky start, has been giving somewhat stable performances right now. This year the team also has support from Robin Uthappa, young player Sunil Narine, Andre Russell and Manish Pandey.

Together, the team mates have been handpicked to give their best in the T20 matches. Some of the players are younger than the lot. They have been chosen because of their steady performances in the previous matches. Some of the players have been picked out right from under 19 cricket team.

History of KKR

KKR has had the same team from the last two matches. This means that once they have selected the best team members, they have not removed them which is why none of their team members has been up for auction. This shows that KKR feels rather confident about their team choice. It only remains to be seen if they perform as well as the faith invested in them.

Jacque Kallis has been coaching the team from the past two years and it is said that he had his say in keeping the team members. It seems like some of the players are in their best form right now which is why the owners thought it best to keep them.


In 2012, KKR won the trophy for the first time defeating Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings. Their next victory came in the year 2014 when they again won the match. They won once again defeating team Mumbai Indians in the finale that year. However after that they are yet to show any victory. Regardless, they played phenomenally in the year 2016. They went to the finals but unfortunately lost to the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the last match, which made the latter a winning team against KKR.